22
Apr
08

Elite

The first time I encountered this word was the infamous computer game of the same name on my Commodore 64, back when I was about four years old. I still have that system, and of course, Elite takes a top place in my games collection, enough that I still have the 20-odd year old Ship Identification Chart up on my wall.

The word ‘Elite’ to my young ears conjured up grandiose images of being one amongst the many, a pinnacle of skill and tactics, and ultimately, having a kick-ass spaceship. Nowadays, the word ‘Elite’ is enough to get me excited again, as the Elite Series are approaching on the starboard bow for a second barrage of VS goodness.

First time around, back in June this year, the format was a sealed-draft from the Marvel Team-Up expansion. Turnout in my area was unfortunately low, with only the bare minimum needed to run the tournament actually turning up, meaning I automatically qualified for the Top 8, and got my Extended Art EoME.

This time, we’re expecting a lot more players, and it’s now Silver-Age constructed, so I’m going to need to up my game to actually get somewhere, especially with the more top-heavy prize support from UDE.

Thus, a decision had to be made, play a deck made to win, or play a deck and make it win? Out of my collection, I had three Silver-Age decks available; Doomed Earth, Heralds of Galactus Stall, and X-Men Energy Burn.

The first, Doomed Earth, was taken from a deck-list Augustus over on VS. Realms had posted back in December 2006, and at the time I started VS back in March/April, I got two boxes of the HoG expansion, and happened to have most of the cards needed for this, so decided to build it, not realising it was a slightly prominent force in the competitive scene. The link for Augustus’ original thread is here: Doomed Earth

For a quick glance:

Doomed Earth.

Characters
12 x Moloids
4 x  Mole Man <> Moloid Master
4 x Elite Doom Guards
4 x Dr. Doom <> Richard’s Rival
4 x Doom-Bot Corps
4 x Mr. Fantastic <> Doom’s Adversary

Plot-Twists
4 x Doomed Earth
4 x Unthinkable
4 x Doom Needs Only Doom
4 x Mask of Doom
4 x Armies of Doom
4 x Super Genius

Locations
4 x Arsenal of Doom

The main intention of this deck, (taken from the thread linked above);
“Drop as many Doomed Earth as possible and play as many characters as possible each turn. Cause massive breakthrough to win the game.”

It’s so simple, and yet, so effective. If you’re lucky enough, you can have 4 Doomed Earths in play, giving a whopping +8 ATK to each character. Then with judicious team-attacking, you could probably clear the table at around Turn 4/5. So, a competitive deck made to win. The only problem? I’ve never had the chance to playtest it. I’d be going in blind, as it’s unlikely I’ll have time for an informal match-up before the actual event thanks to University work.

The ponderings of the X-Men and HoG decks will have to wait until next time, as I’m about to run late for a roleplaying session.

0 Responses to “Elite”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

