22
Apr
08

Horses, Hulk and Handfuls of Cash

This was supposed to be posted on Wednesday, and the Wednesday before that…and the Wednesday before that. Unfortunately, Wednesday seems to be a darn-awful day to try and get anything done. Plus, I’ve had to start getting down to business with my revision for a couple of exams next week. So, I finally present; the deck I won’t be taking to the World Championships, but would love to:

Horse Patrol (Modern)

Characters

4x Elasti-Girl, Rita Farr
4x The Infinites, AoA
4x Sugar Man, AoA
4x Mento, Steve Dayton
4x Negative Man, Larry Trainor
4x Dark Beast, AoA
3x Robotman, Cliff Steele
3x Apocalypse, AoA (5-drop)
2x Beast Boy, Freak of Nature
1x Mikhail Rasputin, AoA
1x Apocalypse, AoA (8-drop)

Plot Twists

4x Freak Out
4x Heroic Effort
3x Marvel Crossover
4x Misfits
3x Pathetic Attempt
2x Omnipotence
2x Strange Days

Locations

2x Dayton Manor
2x Breeding Pens

It’s a standard Doom Patrol/Horsemen of Apocalypse team-up, with the aim of surviving through until Turn 5, and then dumping as many +1/+1 counters onto the 5-drop Apocalypse as possible. I had a version of this deck floating around back when DC Legends first came out, but this is the first time I’ve updated it to include The Infinites and Breeding Pens. Unfortunately, the deck tends to not hold it’s weight against some of the bigger decks out there, which is why the Pathetic Attempts and Omnipotences are included. As it’s not quite as competitive a deck as my Brotherhood one is, I’ll not be considering using this for the World Championships in June, but it’s one that sees play online from time to time. Also, I’m still awaiting many of the cards from the UDE Points Store, so this deck can’t be created by me in real-life just yet anyhow.

I’ve also had to skimp on my views on the new Marvel Universe Hulk cards previewed this week, thanks to the revision again. So, whilst I can’t fit them all into this one post, I’ll place up the one that’s most intriguing for me.


So, you may simply be thinking; “It’s a Hulk-stamped ungodly +8 ATK card. Aside from making me go and cry in the corner, what’s the big deal?” Well, the deal is Mystique, Shapely Shifter. From Turn 4, she can go “Hello, I’m now called Hulk. Give me the +8 ATK goodness please.” A rather nice addition to my Brotherhood deck, and if I can get a playset of this card, Sabretooth may have to make way for the shape-shifting lady.

And in addendum, I finally get my loans/grants for this term at University tomorrow, so I can go and pre-order my boxes of Marvel Universe, and buy the singles I need to finish off my Modern Brotherhood deck. If I can find copies of Random that is.

Leave a Reply

